

August 26, 2024

The Honorable Mike Johnson Speaker, U.S. House of Representatives H-232, The Capitol Washington D.C. 20515

Dear Speaker Johnson,

On behalf of the Democratic Women's Caucus, we urge you to rework the partisan farm bill that passed out of the House Committee on Agriculture, and work with House Democrats to pass a bipartisan farm bill that truly helps women and families.

H.R.8467, the "Farm, Food, and National Security Act," as passed out of Committee, would cut \$30 billion in food assistance from the Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP) over the next decade, the largest cut to SNAP in nearly twenty years. This would disproportionately impact women and children, who make up the vast majority of SNAP participants. According to the United States Department of Agriculture, in fiscal year 2022, 38 percent of SNAP recipients were adult women and 40 percent were children. Further, single mothers would be disproportionately impacted by cuts to SNAP benefits; the National Women's Law Center (NWLC) found that, from June 2020 through September 2020, 64 percent of SNAP households with children were headed by a single adult, 92 percent of which were headed by women.

SNAP is an essential program that reduces rates of women's poverty; according to the NWLC, SNAP helped 1.2 million women escape poverty in 2021. It is a critical tool for addressing poverty and hunger in our country. We cannot leave our most vulnerable behind.

Including cuts to SNAP benefits in the farm bill undermines the inclusion of any other positive advancements and could jeopardize final passage of the bill, putting farmers and families in harm's way. We are committed to passing a farm bill that supports both our farmers and ranchers, and nutrition assistance for women and their families.

We look forward to working with you to address our concerns and deliver for women across the country.

Sincerely,

Lis Frankel skana Hayes Teresa Leger Fernández Lois Frankel Jahana Hayes Vice Chair Member of Congress Chair Democratic Women's Caucus Democratic Women's Caucus Ayanna Pressley Co-Chair, Policy Task Force Co-Chair, Policy Task Force Vice Chair Democratic Women's Caucus Democratic Women's Caucus Democratic Women's Caucus Grace Meng Katie Porter Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez Member of Congress Member of Congress Member of Congress Sheila Cherfilus-McCormick Nydia M. Velázquez Member of Congress Member of Congress Member of Congress **Maxine Waters** Frederica S. Wilson Veronica Escobar Member of Congress Member of Congress Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Jan Schakowsky

Member of Congress

1 artel

Shontel M. Brown

Member of Congress

Mi Sewell Ann McLane Kuster Terri A. Sewell Member of Congress Member of Congress

Debbie Wasserman Schultz Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Cori Bush

Member of Congress

Zoe Lofgren

Member of Congress

Rashida Tlaib Member of Congress Delia C. Ramirez Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Betty McCollum

Member of Congress

Lucy McBath Member of Congress

Linda T. Sánchez Member of Congress

Alma S. Adams, Ph.D. Member of Congress

Madeleine Dean Member of Congress

Madeleine Le

Suzan K. DelBene Member of Congress Anna G. Eshoo Member of Congress

Member of Congress

1 Tokula

Lisa Blunt Rochester Chellie Pingree Member of Congress Member of Congress Member of Congress foris Matsu Doris Matsui Brittany Pettersen Member of Congress Member of Congress Member of Congress Haley M. Stevens Melanie Stansbury Becca Balint Member of Congress Member of Congress Member of Congress Lori Trahan Julia Brownley Member of Congress Member of Congress Member of Congress Val Hoyle Deborah K. Ross Debbie Dingell Member of Congress Member of Congress Member of Congress

Røbin L. Kelly Member of Congress Mary Gay Scanlon
Member of Congress

Kathy Castor

Member of Congress

Kath

Summer L. Lee
Member of Congress

Rosa L. DeLauro
Member of Congress

Sylvia R. Garcia
Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Christy Houlahan
Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Mikie Sherrill
Member of Congress

Hillary J. Scholten
Member of Congress

Barbara Lee Member of Congress

Marcy Kaptur Member of Congress Norma J. Torres Member of Congress