Congress of the United States Washington, DC 20515

July 24, 2023

The Honorable Joseph R. Biden President of the United States of America 1600 Pennsylvania Avenue NW Washington DC 20500

Dear President Biden,

We write to strongly support your ongoing attention to the widespread flood damage across the State of Connecticut and the Northeast. We have urged the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) to expeditiously approve a Secretarial Disaster Designation for impacted counties in Connecticut now that Governor Ned Lamont has made the request. This is an important step to support our agricultural industry and vital to its survival. We have heard from growers across our state who have incurred significant financial losses and require assistance.

In addition, there is an urgent need for further collaboration with your Administration and the Department of Agriculture to create new avenues for emergency relief funding for New England farmers. Typical assistance from the disaster declaration will not work for all farmers in our state —Connecticut producers face unique market challenges that leave them vulnerable after a disaster. We urge your Administration to look at what actions can be taken to expand access to financial assistance on an administrative level. In the meantime, we stand ready in Congress to support whatever funding or authorities are necessary to address the crisis.

In the last five years, Connecticut has experienced the effects of drought, frost, flooding and more. If we do not take decisive action to support our farmers, the industry will not survive the impacts of increasingly prevalent extreme weather events due to climate change. We stand ready to work with you and the Department of Agriculture to achieve results. Additionally, we would welcome the opportunity to host you or members of your administration in the state to hear firsthand from impacted farmers.

Thank you for your consideration.

Sincerely,

John B. Larson Member of Congress

Richard Blumenthal United States Senator Christopher S. Murphy United States Senator

Jahana Hayes

Member of Congress

phana Hayes

im Himes

Member of Congress

Rosa L. DeLauro

Member of Congress

Joe Courtney

Member of Congress