WASHINGTON – Speaker Nancy Pelosi has appointed Congresswoman Jahana Hayes (CT-05) to serve as representative of the House on the National Historical Publications and Records Commission (NHPRC), a panel charged with promoting American democracy by supporting the preservation of the most treasured historical documents.

“I am honored to be designated by Speaker Pelosi as the representative of the House on the National Historical Publications and Records Commission. For fifteen years, I helped deepen my students' understanding of the most consequential moments of our nation's history through a wealth of primary source documents,” said Congresswoman Hayes. "In many ways this appointment continues the work I began in the classroom of preserving and promoting our democracy. I am grateful for the confidence and support of Speaker Pelosi and look forward to working with the Commission in preserving our nation’s history for generations to come.” 

“As Speaker, I am proud to appoint Congresswoman Jahana Hayes to serve as the House’s voice on the National Historical Publications and Records Commission,” Speaker Pelosi said. “Always a history teacher at heart, Congresswoman Hayes knows firsthand the importance of telling the entirety of America’s story and passing the lessons of our past onto the next generation. For nearly nine decades, the NHPRC has advanced that mission – helping preserve the stories of those who came before us so that we might forge an ever-brighter future for our children. Congresswoman Hayes will bring invaluable insight and deep-seated passion to the NHPRC’s vital work: inspiring our future leaders and strengthening the fabric of our democracy.”

 The NHPRC is a statutory body affiliated with the National Archives and Records Administration (NARA), established by Congress in 1934 to promote understanding of American’s democracy, history, and culture through preservation of its documentary heritage. The 15-member Commission is chaired by the Archivist of the United States and is composed of representatives from all three branches of the Federal Government, including one U.S. Representative selected by the Speaker of the House.