WASHINGTON – Congresswoman Jahana Hayes (CT-05), 2016 National Teacher of the Year, released the following statement regarding the Council of Chief State School Officer’s (CCSSO) announcement of the 2022 National Teacher of the Year. 

“I send my warmest congratulations to 2022 National Teacher of the Year Kurt Russell ,” said Congresswoman Hayes.“Mr. Russell has created a learning environment where students are safe to learn and thrive. I hope he is able to experience all the joy that comes with this momentous occasion and I look forward to partnering with him to continue to underscore the need for increased diversity in the teaching profession and programs that challenge students to excel.”

Mr. Russell has taught history for 25 years at Oberlin High School in Oberlin, Ohio, where he was born and raised. As the  2022 National Teacher of the Year, he plans to advocate for classrooms to better reflect the students within them — from a curriculum that reflects their backgrounds and identities to a more diverse teaching profession.? He was previously recognized as teacher of the year by the Oberlin Heritage Center and the Oberlin chapter of the NAACP, and as Lorain County Basketball Association Coach of the Year and the Northeast Ohio Coach of the Year. Mr. Russell will be honored in a White House ceremony next week.